kYmizsofly

I MADE IT: END OF THE SEMESTER-BLUES THEORY

In Education on December 18, 2013 at 2:04 pm
2014

I have on semester left | Master’s Candidate 2014 | Sho’nuff!

It took me forever to figure out what type of image I wanted to display for this blog post and the end of the semester. I’m so glad that it’s finally over! I can get back to what I love doing: writing, reading, shopping, creating art and visiting artsy places in the city. A lot took place this year for me as a graduate student. I was enrolled in school from January to December 2013. I completed seven semesters in one year (I didn’t take one break – except the ones offered during the academic year.). Can you imagine how I feel right about now? Honestly, I’ve been sleep on and off since the last day of school which was this past FRIDAY. It was a year to remember…

I was able to attend the Texas Library Association’s Conference that was held in Fort Worth, Texas. I then traveled to Grapevine, Texas and attended the University of North Texas’ Mayborn Creative Nonfiction Conference. After that, I trekked to Cincinnati, Ohio and attended the Black Caucus of the American Library’s Annual Conference.

In like manner, I was able to participate in the Library 2.103 Conference for a second year in a row, and I presented research on graduate student blogging.If you are interested in blogging, download the FREE E-Guide: Library Intellect. Even while studying, writing papers, and working on group projects I was able to debut my new online art web-blog: ART library deco. It will take the place of digibooklibrarian after May 2014. The art blow features African American art news, archives, videos, exhibitions, and so much more. Check it out when you get a chance.

LITERARY SIDEBAR: I had the opportunity to learn a lot about some hot authors in the natural hair care revolution. This year, I was a blogger and created a magazine for the Nzuri Natural Hair Health & Beauty Festival, held at Reliant Center in Houston, Texas. , I found out that I won a fellowship with the San Antonio Black History Library Board. I will be one of six authors that will be featured during their Black History festivities in February of 2014 (everything is paid for!!!). Keeping it literally flowing, I volunteered at the National Black Book Festival that’s hosted annually in Houston, Texas!

And, we are not going to even get into my studies — just know that I did the damn thang! I have to give myself a pat on the back for completing all of the requirements for the UNT SLIS-Graduate Certificate in Digital Content Management and I received a letter in the mail the day before Thanksgiving stating that I’m now a Master’s Candidate. I have one stage left before I walk across the stage in May of 2014 (and I only have one class to take next semester-so sweet! :)). It seems like just yesterday when I enrolled into the Master’s of Library Science and Information Technology Program at the University of North Texas (I  started in summer of 2012). I’ve been on my grind!

This by far as been one of the most productive year’s in my life! I would not trade it for anything. I’m so happy about the future and where I will land my first job as well as the new roles that I’ve been granted in the field of librarianship. I know one thing for sure, it has not been easy and I appreciate that, because I’m grateful for the up’s and down’s! Trust, I had many tribulations that came my way before I got to this point. If you want to do anything with your life — you can. It takes hard work, determination, persistence, and discipline to achieve it.

With that being said, I wish you and your family a blessed holiday season and a bomb.azz NEW YEAR!

Let’s bring in 2014 together | You’ve been here since the beginning of my graduate student career, virtually communicating with me about librarianship. I appreciate all of the peeps that have taken time to read this blog. It was created as a form of documentation as it pertains to my experience as an African American graduate student. Next semester will be the last semester that I will publish via this blog. It has been a blast. I made it through the fall semester blues theory:) *

Keep it NERDY!

“The things I want to know are in books; my best friend is the man who’ll get me a book I ain’t read.”

— Abraham Lincoln

Leave a Reply for digibooklibrarian

