kYmizsofly

Library Pimpology: The Case of Graduate School Exhaustion

In African American Librarians, Education, Writing on June 3, 2013 at 2:31 am
418592_332456736792837_1323854905_n (1)

I love this photo. It is the first bedroom library that I’ve seen that makes architectural sense!

It’s 2:04 AM in the morning; I decided to go ahead and put the word out there: SUMMER CLASSES | Officially in Session! I’ve had no time off since the beginning of the spring 2013 semester (a few days here and there). I will be honest and say that sometimes exhaustion just takes over and you have to step back and reflect on everything that you’ve accomplished. I learned so much this previous semester, got to attend the Texas Library Conference, chilled out with some cool librarians in training, and received accolades galore. I just finished Maymester and have now ordained myself as an official ART Librarian on the rise.

It has taken a long time for me to get to this point in my life where I can say that I’m completely stoked about my own progress and greatness. Never in a million years did I actually  think that this would be one of my paths in (my) book of life. However, I will say graduate school is no joke and the work has to get done in order to make it to the finish line. At this point, I will be working on a Graduate Certificate in Digital Content Management, will begin practicing my lectures for my teaching assignments coming up in the Fall of 13′ and Spring 14′. Not to mention, I’m applying for all kinds of scholarships and fellowships to make sure that I am well-rounded once I walk across the stage in May of next year.

Practice makes perfect they say, and I’ve enrolled in a grammar course provided by the Houston Public Library to continue to hone my skills as a writer, journalist, and blogger. In like manner, I’ve created my online documentation about becoming an Art Librarian. The web-blog will debut in fall 2013 entitled: ART | library deco. I take pride in knowing that I will be helping a lot of individuals  learn more about African American history, literature, music, and art. It gets no better than this I tell yah, with a smile on my face in the wee hours this morning. I chalk it all up to being a blessing. And, then again… I want to scream; summer classes will be starting in a few hours.

I will not lie to you I’m exhausted in all capacities as it pertains to academia. I think we all get to that point at some time or another. With that being said, my remedy for all of this is to have fun this summer regardless of being in school. I will be traveling to the beach, exercising, attending a concert, hosting an art reception, visiting art events and writing about them, and will be entering my art work as a collage artist in an exhibition. There comes a time when you have to enjoy life (however you can).

Earlier this past week I received some KEEP CALM cards in the mail. I laughed when I read all of them, because they were just what the library doctor ordered. I intend on making the best with what I have to work with this summer. There is no need to complain either. I just want to always be honest with myself and my audience: It is okay to be in tune with your feelings. Take it from me, life is not waiting on you –regardless of what you are doing. Get out and do something is my mantra for the summer. Life is  good and knowing that to be truth equals out to be: LIBRARY PIMPOLOGY!

Leave a Reply for digibooklibrarian

