kYmizsofly

Library Science & Information Technology @ UNT

In 21st Century Libraries, African American Librarians, Education on June 1, 2012 at 8:38 am

I am too excited about this semester. I am now a graduate student at The University of North Texas. I will enter my journey beginning on June 4, 2012. I wanted to share a little bit of what I will be studying with you as a graduate student. And, I wanted to encourage anyone who is interested in becoming a librarian to go for it. I have always been a woman of action. I’m not really attracted to individuals that talk about what they are going to do…I believe that you’re just supposed to do it–if you believe in it. Let me be your inspiration. I’ve went through a lot to get to this point in my life, even had a professor tell me that I was not ready to be in this field. Well, she is in my past and I definitely wish her well. And, if you are reading this Dr. Ugly Professor, did you actually believe that you could stop me? Ha!

My track that I will be going through is entitled Digital Image Management. Here is a synopsis of the degree plan:

This program of study is intended to prepare graduates who will assume leadership roles. It is designed to produce experts in the field of Digital Image Management. Graduates will be able to manage all aspects of digital images from production and organization to copyright and network design.

The program includes the production of digital images; digital information database creation and management of digital information are important skill sets for current and future library and museum information professionals. In addition, the program prepares individuals to assume positions as experts in the broader markets of libraries, archives and information centers.

An integral part of the educational experience for the students enrolled in the program is the opportunity to work as interns at area museums, archives and information centers.

I was intrigued by this program, because the University of North Texas offers programs all over the state of Texas. I live in Houston, Texas, and will be attending their satellite campus at the University of Houston (this is where I obtained my English-Creative Writing Degree). This was one of the major perks of attending this university. Yesterday, I submitted my first proposal to present at the main campus in Denton, Texas. In addition, I will be able to actually work in the field that I want to as a librarian—in museums, galleries, and cultural institutions.

I believe that the opportunities are endless and that I’m in good company. I’ve decided to put my all into my academic writing and reading like crazy. It feels good to know that this is the journey that I was destined for and will complete in 2014!

If you have ever wanted to pursue a dream in life…my suggestion is to take some time off, research, and then go for it. There is no time like the present to put what you want to do in action.

Visit the University of Library SLIS Program  

Leave a Reply for digibooklibrarian

